Present Accreditation

     Applicant Member of Transworld Accrediting Commission PO Drawer C Siloam Springs, Arkansas
     72761. Transworld Accrediting Commission is not recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.
     Registered with the Virginia Council of Higher Education as an exempt religious degree granting
     post-secondary school. See letter of exemption.
     MBI Yeshiva is not recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

Future Accreditation

     One of our goals is to obtain accreditation with the Distance Education and Training Council (DETC).
     According to their information their accreditation is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education for
     government grants, school loans and Veteran's benefits. Our hope is to gain such privileges in time, the
     Most High willing.

What are our Accreditation Limitations?

     MBI Yeshiva is presently limited from receiving some higher accreditation for several key reasons:
     1. Some state higher accreditation is not available to ANY religious or Bible school because of
         "separation of church and state."
     2. Some high accreditation requires on site student housing, which MBI Yeshiva is not currently
         planning for the known future.
     3. Some high accreditation requires extensive on site library facilities, which MBI Yeshiva is planning in
         the long range. Below  is the American Library Association's definition of accreditation.
         MBI Yeshiva will not compromise our religious principles of faith for the purpose of being
         accredited by any board.
         Ultimately, MBI Yeshiva wants to prove our worth by the quality of our students. That is where
         you come in!

What is Accreditation?

Accreditation is the voluntary, nongovernmental system of evaluation used in North America to protect the public interest and to verify the quality of services rendered by a variety of different types of service organizations and institutions. In the higher education sector, accreditation assures that postsecondary educational institutions and their units, schools, or programs meet appropriate standards of quality and integrity. It also helps institutions and their component units improve the quality of education they offer.

At the postsecondary level there are two types of educational accreditation: institutional and specialized. Institutional accreditation evaluates the institution as a whole. Six regional associations and six national associations restrict their activities to institutions of a particular type.

Specialized accreditation evaluates professional and occupational education at the unit or program level. It is conducted by specialized accrediting bodies generally established by national professional organizations in such fields as journalism, law, medicine, social work, and teacher education.

Specialized accreditation is both a process and a condition. The process entails the assessment of the program's quality and the continued enhancement of the program's operations through compliance with specified professional standards. The condition provides a credential to the public-at-large, which attests that a program has accepted and continues to fulfill its commitment to educational quality.

Both the process and the condition provide benefits to a variety of publics. These publics include students, program faculty, institutional administrators, program graduates, professionals in the field and the consumers of professional services.

The American Library Association is a leading force in accreditation, providing opportunities to practitioners, educators and the public for input into the setting of standards for master's level programs of education in the field of Library and Information Studies (LIS). the Office for Accreditation provides planning and leadership in the national and international accreditation arenas, and is the authoritative source for the profession and public on LIS accreditation.

Copyright © 2000, American Library Association.